School Board Appreciation Month


Thank a school board member!


January is School Board Recognition Month and Glen Rose ISD will join other districts across the state to thank these local leaders for their dedication and willingness to serve as advocates for our children and public schools. As elected officials, they are the voice of their communities, serving first and foremost in the best interest of Texas schoolchildren.

“Even though we are making a special effort in January to show appreciation to our board members, we realize their many contributions reflect a year-round commitment. They generously give of themselves to ensure that decisions directly affecting our local schools are made by representatives of this community, people who are close to our schools and know our teachers, parents, and students,” said Wayne Rotan, Glen Rose ISD superintendent.

“Board members shoulder critical responsibilities and often make difficult choices. Their ultimate goal is always focused on the future success of the children in our district,” Rotan said. “It’s more important than ever before that the public supports our schools so that today’s students are prepared to be productive citizens and the leaders of tomorrow. Our board members provide vision and leadership in their roles as advocates, and they will continue to stand up for public education and guard against anything that takes away from our children,” he said.

Board members serving Glen Rose ISD are Kelley Snodgrass (15 years), Tom Lounsberry (14 years), Andy Snow (9 years), Wade Busch (13 years), Kevin Taylor (11 years), Brady Brown (10 years), and Jason Dillard (3 years).

“Our district benefits from the tireless work and countless hours contributed by these local citizens who work without pay. Serving as a crucial link between the community and classroom, this board is responsible for an annual budget of $30,174,921 million, 1,751 students, 262 employees, and four campuses. Please help us thank these dedicated volunteers for their efforts to make a difference and their unfailing commitment to the continued success of our students now and in the future,” he said.

Written by